Future Rockstar

(photo via pathtorhythm.com)

My hubby and I have always known that our children male or female would be involved in sports in one way or another. We both were as children and love the idea of sharing those experiences with them.  We are also very adamant about their academics and are even in the process of trying to make a move to be in one of the best school districts in DFW.

I’ve always wanted to maintain that small town atmosphere for them that I grew up with and introduce them to many things that surround us.  We have crop fields practically in our back yard, neighbors who raise chickens and the place where my oldest son Landon does gymnastics and swimming also has horse riding lessons.  We wanted them to experience a bit of everything and then let them decide for themselves what they would like to do with their time.

Well last year I also decided I wanted my children to learn an instrument or music of some sort and set out looking for lessons.  But because we live in a small town that has proven hard to do.  We enrolled Landon in a music program at the age of three that did the basic introduction into music and instruments, but unfortunately not enough children enrolled and the class was cancelled.  Fast forward to this summer and I anxiously await to enroll him in a local church piano camp only to find out that the age of four is too young.  By this point I’m frustrated and disappointed by the lack of access to any sort of music program for my child short of hiring a private instructor.

So I turned to Landon one day and asked him out of curiosity what instrument he wants to learn.  As he looks at me intently obviously thinking pretty hard he says “the drums and the cymbals”.  I burst out laughing, my child whom I have tried tirelessly to find music/instrument lessons for wants to play (in my opinion) the two easiest instruments out there.  I mean do you really even need an instructor to learn to play the cymbals 🙂

One day we might agree to let him learn how to play the drums, but for now I would really love it if he learned to play piano or saxophone.  Although ultimately it will be his decision not to play these instruments it wont be because of a lack of trying.

Comments

  1. just an ordinary girl says:

    Reblogged this on Dkernizah's Blog and commented:
    Awwwwww, Cute…. Thats awesome 🙂 ❤

  2. just an ordinary girl says:

    Reblogged this on Dkernizah's Blog and commented:
    Awwwwww, Cute…. Thats awesome 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

